Databases: Multiformat and Disciplinary (historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles)
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once. It contains access to historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles. Subject Areas: Arts & Humanities, Business, General Research, Health Sciences & Nursing, Literature, News & Issues, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Databases: Scholarly Articles
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. Millions of articles are available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.
Databases: Newspapers
To locate a complete list of New York Public Library databases visit: http://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases
Please Note: These are links to the New York Public LIbrary Website. You will need a NYPL card to use the databases. Please see Ms. Kane to obtain one.
Secondary Sources
Academic Search Premier*: Secondary Sources. "4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles." *Highly Recommended
Project Muse: Secondary Sources.Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO): University Press Scholarship Online offers full text of over 7,000 academic monographs.
Primary Sources
Independent Voices: Primary Sources. A collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative and small press archives. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers: African American historical newspapers throughout the United States.
23333096172000
When at school, you can use the Spence Library resources using the links on the guide through automatic IP authentication.
When at home, the first time you use a library resource in your browser you will be redirected to a log-in screen in order to authenticate that you are a member of the Spence Community.
To do so, enter your Spence username (for most students this is: first initial + last name + year of graduation) and the master password you were given by Spence at the beginning of the school year.
After you authenticate, you will be automatically directed to the database you selected. You only need to authenticate once during a browsing session.
