REFERENCE - US History - 10th Grade Spring Research Paper, Dr. Johnson - Spence School Library at The Spence School

Reference Databases

Reference, Periodicals, Multimedia

Gale in Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides background information on U.S. history, covering the major events and people. This resource offers primary source documents, reference articles, journal and magazine articles, images, video and audio and maps.

Reference Articles

American History Online This link opens in a new window
Reference Resource. Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
The online provides access to articles, photographs, maps and links to related Web sites, as well as to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the world atlas, a timeline and Britannica’s annual “Year in Review.”
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated articles about American History.

Subject Specific Reference Articles

Oxford African American Studies - Africa and Diaspora Studies This link opens in a new window
An extensive scholarly collection that focuses on the lives and events that have shaped African American and African history and culture.
Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions offer concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: A collection of research guides for a wide variety of subjects. Includes topic overviews and annotated bibliographies.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

The Oxford Handbook of American Immigration and Ethnicity
ISBN: 9780199766031
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History
Call Number: Oxford Handbooks Database
ISBN: 9780199860463
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History
Call Number: Oxford Handbooks Database
ISBN: 9780199858897
Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of African American Citizenship, 1865-Present
Call Number: Oxford Handbooks Database
ISBN: 9780195188059
Publication Date: 2012