Immigration and Migration across the US - US History - 10th Grade Spring Research Paper, Dr. Johnson - Spence School Library at The Spence School

Immigration: General

Immigration History Research Center Archives
University of Minnesota. A collection of primary sources created by immigrant communities from around the world.
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
Harvard University. "Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, is a web-based collection of historical materials that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections"
Immigrant Entrepreneurship
The collaborative research project Immigrant Entrepreneurship: German-American Business Biographies, 1720 to the Present explores the entrepreneurial and economic capacity of immigrants by investigating the German-American example in the United States.
Immigration
Presentation by the Library of Congress. Designed for teachers, this resource introduces the immigration stories of a variety of cultures including German, Italian, Japanese and Chinese Americans.
Overview - Immigration - Themed Resources
A list of online resources about Immigration available through the Library of Congress.
Immigration Restriction League
A set of primary sources from the Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930, from Harvard University. "The Immigration Restriction League (IRL) advocated a literacy requirement as a means to limit immigration into the United States."

Immigration: New York City Resources

Lewis Wickes Hine: Documentary Photographs, 1905-1938
Photos concerning labor, immigration, and social conditions.
Tenement Museum
The Tenement Museum preserves and interprets the history of immigration through the personal experiences of the generations of newcomers who settled in and built lives on Manhattan's Lower East Side, America's iconic immigrant neighborhood.
Uncovering the Five Points: Evidence from a New York City Immigrant Neighborhood
"New York City’s Five Points was an immigrant district notorious for poverty and crime. This searchable database contains information about the neighborhood drawn from the 1855 New York state census, data that paints a more complex portrait of its working-class residents."
Jacob Riis: Immigration in the United States by Harvard University
Primary resources about Jacob Riis and related publications on Tenement Housing Reform, Immigration, and Urban Poverty
History of Homelessness in NYC
The Institute of Children, Poverty, and Homelessness presents timelines, maps, stories, and articles exploring the historical experience of family poverty and homelessness, and society's response to it.

Immigration: Ports and Centers

Ellis Island History
The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation.
Ellis Island: Oral History Collection
Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island Foundation. "Since 1973, the Ellis Island Oral History project has been dedicated to preserving the first-hand recollections of immigrants who passed through the Ellis Island immigration station between 1892 and 1954 and the employees who worked there."
Castlegarden.org
Project of The Battery Conservancy. "From 1855 to 1890, the Castle was America's first official immigration center, a pioneering collaboration of New York State and New York City."

Maps, Data, and Statistics

Historical Census Statistics on the Foreign-born Population of the United States: 1850-1990
US Census. Created by Campbell J. Gibson and Emily Lennon.
Immigration Explorer
New York Times. "Select a foreign-born group to see how they settled across the United States."

The West: Expansion and Reform

Primary Documents in American History: National Expansion and Reform, 1815-1860
Library of Congress. Includes Missouri Compromise (1820), Indian Removal Act (1830), Dred Scott v. Sandford (1857).

The West

American Journeys
"American Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration."
California as I Saw It
Library of Congress. "Consists of the full texts and illustrations of 190 works documenting the formative era of California's history through eyewitness accounts. The collection covers the dramatic decades between the Gold Rush and the turn of the twentieth century."
Chicago Tribune Collection (1880s to 1940s)
Michigan State University
Coal Mining During the Gilded Age
Ohio State University
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
Washington State University Vancouver, the Idaho State Historical Society, Oregon Historical Society, Washington State Historical Society, and Washington State University Pullman.
Diaries, Memoirs, Letters and Reports Along The Trails West
Digital Horizons: Life on the Northern Plains
" Digital Horizons provides, maintains, and preserves a wide range of historical and significant content related to North Dakota and Minnesota."
Early Advertising of the West, 1867-1918
University of Washington
Historic Oregon Newspapers
University of Oregon
Illinois Digital Archives
Collection of items related to Illinois History: Abraham Lincoln, the Civil War, regional newspapers
Lewis and Clark
PBS
New Perspectives on the West
PBS
The Northern Great Plains 1880-1920 Photographs, NDSU Institute for Regional Studies (NDSU)
Digital Horizons
Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights Projects
University of Washington
Texas History
Texas State Library and Archives Commission
Trails of Hope: Overland Diaries and Letters, 1846–1869
Brigham Young University. "A collection of the original writings of 49 voyagers on the Mormon, California, Oregon, and Montana trails who wrote while traveling on the trail."
Trails to Utah and the Pacific: Diaries and Letters, 1846-1869
Library of Congress
Western History Collections
University of Oklahoma. Collection includes Civil War Manuscripts and Native American Manuscripts and Oral Histories.

Immigration Law

The Nation’s Immigration Laws, 1920 to Today - Pew Research Center
A report on immigration statistics and laws from the Pew Research Center.
A Brief History of Civil Rights in the United States
Historical guide with links to primary source pieces of legislation. Created by Georgetown Law.

US History - 10th Grade Spring Research Paper, Dr. Johnson: Immigration and Migration across the US

Immigration: General

Immigration: New York City Resources

Immigration: Ports and Centers

Maps, Data, and Statistics

The West: Expansion and Reform

The West

Immigration Law