Skip to Main Content

US History - 10th Grade Spring Research Paper, Dr. Johnson: PRIMARY SOURCES

Databases Primary Sources

New York Public Library Databases:

  • ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers: African American historical newspapers throughout the United States. 
  • Artemis Primary Sources A full-text database that cross-searches Gale's primary source collections, including Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO), and Sabin Americana. 
  • Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress This archive, from the NYPL's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, documents the Civil Rights Congress (CRC) which was established in 1946 to, among other things, "combat all forms of discrimination against…labor, the Negro people and the Jewish people, and racial, political, religious, and national minorities." Dates of inclusion range from 1946-1955.
  • Harper's Bazaar Archive The entire run of Harper's Bazaar, in full text and full color, from 1867-present.  *Keep in the mind that because this title is newly released, only select content, mostly from 1970-2008, has been loaded thus far. 
  • Independent Voices Independent Voices is a growing digital collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative and small press archives of participating libraries.
  • Indigenous Peoples: North America Over 50 archival collections documenting the Native American experience.
  • Liberty Magazine  The Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 offers researchers and students of twentieth century studies digital access to one of the most popular American illustrated weekly magazines of the 1920s-1950s.  
  • New Yorker Digital Archive The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present.
  • Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers Over 500 titles covering the entire nineteenth century, with a special emphasis on westward expansion, the American Civil War, and the African American experience.  
  • Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity Contains 18 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940.
  • American Indian Experience Full-text digital resource exploring the history and culture of American Indians. 

23333096172000

See information on Second Tab about Digital Libraries

Finding Primary Sources*

The texts of primary sources are available online in two different ways:

  • available via library databases (example: Historical Newspapers, Artstor)  that may be used from any computer with access to the school libguide. 

*Berkley Library University of California, Finding Historical Primary Sources: Primary Sources Online, http://guides.lib.berkeley.edu/c.php?g=4409&p=15610

Digital Libraries

A digital library is a special library with a focused collection of digital objects that can include text, visual material, audio material, video material, stored as electronic media formats (as opposed to print, microform, or other media), along with means for organizing, storing, and retrieving the files and media contained in the library collection. Digital libraries can vary immensely in size and scope, and can be maintained by individuals, organizations, or affiliated with established physical library buildings or institutions, or with academic institutions.*

  1. ​Pradeep B Ghante ed and Ashok Yakkaldevi ed, Library Automation (Solapur: Laxmi Book Publications, 2014), 17.

 

A digital library is an online collection of digital objects, of assured quality, that are created or collected and managed according to internationally accepted principles for collection development and made accessible in a coherent and sustainable manner, supported by services necessary to allow users to retrieve and exploit the resources. - IFLA/UNESCO Manifesto for Digital Libraries

Websites

Gilder Lehrman

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is a nonprofit organization devoted to the improvement of history education. The website that features more than 60,000 unique historical documents in the Gilder Lehrman Collection.

Please email Ms. Kane for the username and password to use this resource.