Spence School Library: Independent History Research Fellows Program: Locating Primary Sources: Primary Source Database Collections

Primary Source Databases: US History

American Broadsides And Ephemera This link opens in a new window
American Broadsides and Ephemera is a full-color digital edition of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900. A uniquely powerful resource for visual teaching and learning.
American Periodicals Series, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
HeinOnline Scholastic This link opens in a new window
Thousands of academic sources covering a wide variety of subjects with a focus on the humanities, history, and law. Full-text primary and secondary sources.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search our entire collection of Historical Newspapers from Proquest.
Titles include: Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1997), Hartford Courant (1764-1994), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1996), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Tribune (1841-1922), South China Morning Post (1903-2000), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Boston Globe (1872-1989), The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003), The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The New York Times (1851-2016), The Times of India (1838-2010), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2003), The Washington Post (1877-2003).
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Issues Researcher provides information about trending Pro/Con leading issues. Government Reporter gives access to full-text documents, almanacs, directories, summaries, and graphics by United States government agencies, departments and commissions about the U.S. federal government.

Primary Source Databases: World History

Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated news broadcasts and publications of the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African Continent and around the world.
The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991 This link opens in a new window
Translated sources and analysis from around the world providing comprehensive coverage of the conflict that drove global politics from the end of World War II to the early 1990s.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
Middle East and North Africa: Global Perspectives, 1958-1994 This link opens in a new window
Translated journals, newspapers, scientific reports, and radio and television broadcasts from 19 countries in North Africa and the Middle East covering cultural, economic and political developments within the regions.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search our entire collection of Historical Newspapers from Proquest.
Titles include: Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1997), Hartford Courant (1764-1994), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-1996), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Tribune (1841-1922), South China Morning Post (1903-2000), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984), The Boston Globe (1872-1989), The Guardian and The Observer (1791-2003), The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The New York Times (1851-2016), The Times of India (1838-2010), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2003), The Washington Post (1877-2003).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) This link opens in a new window
Place of Publication: United Kingdom
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008) This link opens in a new window
Place of publication: Jerusalem, Israel
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Times of India (1838-2005) This link opens in a new window
Place of publication: New Delhi, India
Rand Daily Mail, 1902-1985 This link opens in a new window
Searchable edition of one of South Africa's most important newspapers, with deep coverage of the country during the Apartheid Era.
Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives: Nuclear Arms and Weapons of Mass Destruction This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to the world Arms Race.
World Protest and Reform Movements, 1945-1996: Twentieth-Century Global Perspectives This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global reaction to major protest and reform movements.

Databases

NYPL Database List
Search the NYPL Databases to see if there is a primary source database relevant to your topic of inquiry.

Accessible Archives - For more than thirty years, Accessible Archives selected, found, digitized and delivered unique and exclusive content previously available only in microformat, hard copy form or as images.

Electronic Enlightenment - Edited correspondence from Europe, the Americas, and Asia, from the early 17th cenutry-mid 19th century. Covers a wide range of writers and subjects. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

Independent History Research Fellows Program: Locating Primary Sources: Primary Source Database Collections

Primary Source Databases: US History

Primary Source Databases: World History

Databases

Need help? Ask Ms. Kane!