PRIMARY SOURCES - Databases - 2024 Spring: US History 3 Research Paper - Spence School Library at The Spence School

Databases Primary Sources

Primary Sources in Anthologies

To cite in Noodletools, Choose Database or Print, then choose "Anthology/Collection" then cite the type of primary source using the drop-down menu that begins with "Story, Poem, Longer Work..."

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.

ProQuest Ebook Central: Primary Sources
Anthologies of Primary Sources in ProQuest Ebook Central
Print Anthologies of Primary Sources in the Spence School LIbrary
Anthologies of Primary Sources are shelved by Call #. Feel free to check them out!

Issues & Controversies in History This link opens in a new window
Presented in a pro/con format that clearly explains both sides of the historical dispute, each article is supported by a timeline and a wealth of primary sources.

Primary Sources in Databases (remember a date filter when searching for newspapers, articles)

Newspaper articles: In Noodletools, choose Database and then "Newspaper".

Proquest Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once. It contains access to historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles. Subject Areas: Arts & Humanities, Business, General Research, Health Sciences & Nursing, Literature, News & Issues, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 20,000 American and global newspapers from 1704 to the present, including over 400 African American newspapers.
Asian Life in America This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the Asian American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 19,000 American and global newspapers, including over 400 Asian American newspapers.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspapers, including almost 450 Hispanic American newspapers.

HeinOnline & JSTOR: Journal articles and Government Documents

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text journal articles in the arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences. While you won’t find current journal articles, you will find articles dating from 3-5 years ago to many decades ago.
HeinOnline Scholastic This link opens in a new window
Thousands of academic sources covering a wide variety of subjects with a focus on the humanities, history, and law. Full-text primary and secondary sources.

JSTOR: Independent Voices
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
JSTOR: American Prison Newspapers, 1800s-present: Voices from the Inside
On March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope was published within a prison in New York state, edited by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200+ years, over 700 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons in all fifty states.
JSTOR: HIV, AIDS & the Arts
Inspired by the many contemporary critical works and archives focusing on the intellectual and social history of HIV and AIDS, Reveal Digital will add to the suite of digital archives in its Diversity & Dissent fund an internationally scoped collection of primary sources documenting the artistic response to the epidemic.
JSTOR: Student Activism
“There have been student protests in the United States for nearly as long as there have been students.” So write the curators of the Interference Archive’s exhibit, Walkout: A Brief History of Student Organizing.

Full List of Databases

Link to a full list of Spence School Primary Source Library Databases:

Search Strategy Builder

Search Strategy Builder
Need help searching for sources using the library databases? Use this search strategy builder to create a search string.

Your search string for primary sources may be different than your secondary search string. Make sure that your keywords are ones that were used during the time period.

New York Public Library Primary Source Databases

New York Public Library Databases:

Harper's Bazaar Archive The entire run of Harper's Bazaar, in full text and full color, from 1867-present.
Liberty Magazine The Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 offers researchers and students of twentieth century studies digital access to one of the most popular American illustrated weekly magazines of the 1920s-1950s.
New Yorker Digital Archive The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present.
ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers: African American historical newspapers throughout the United States.
Women's Magazine Archive The Women's Magazine Archive provides digital access to decades of women's-interest magazines in high-resolution color and in full-text from cover to cover. This collection covers magazines from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Artemis Primary Sources A full-text database that cross-searches Gale's primary source collections, including Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO), and Sabin Americana.
Independent Voices Independent Voices is a growing digital collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative and small press archives of participating libraries.

2024 Spring: US History 3 Research Paper: PRIMARY SOURCES - Databases

Databases Primary Sources

Full List of Databases

Search Strategy Builder

New York Public Library Primary Source Databases