2024 Spring: US History 3 Research Paper: Topics in Black History

The exhibit covers four areas - Colonization, Abolition, Migrations, and the WPA.

The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The New York Public Library and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The history of Africa and its Diaspora. Secondary and primary resources.

"Major documents that help explain the history of African America."

Library of Congress. "The activists interviewed for this project belong to a wide range of occupations, including lawyers, judges, doctors, farmers, journalists, professors, and musicians, among others." Mid-1900s.

"Crossroads to Freedom connects the world with Memphis history through an archive of documents, newspapers, images and oral histories." Mid-1900s

"A collection contains over 200 individual items that document African American history, including speeches, letters, cartoons and graphics, interviews, and articles." 1500-1950s

A Brooklyn Historical Society, Weeksville Heritage Center & Irondale Ensemble Project collaboration.

The holdings of the National Archives at Atlanta include a wealth of records related to the long struggle for Civil Rights as it played out in the federal government.

"Collects published and unpublished works relating to civil rights activities such as personal papers, community materials, organizational records, non-print materials, and artifacts." Early to mid 1960s

"Civil rights movements in Seattle started well before the celebrated struggles in the South in the 1950s and 1960s, and they relied not just on African American activists but also on Filipino Americans, Japanese Americans, Chinese Americans, Jews, Latinos, and Native Americans."

Library of Congress

Primary Sources related to subjects: Segregation | Migrations | Protest | Community | Overcome?

This section contains original documents and materials created or distributed by Freedom Movement organizations during 1951-1968.

Michigan State University Libraries. Includes documents such as books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera. 1960s-1970s

"The links in the archive lead to more than a dozen oral histories, scores of photographs, rare documents, and BPP publications, more than 100 newspaper articles, and the complete transcript and exhibits from the 1970 Congressional Hearings." 1968-1978

The Black Panther Intercommunal News Service was a weekly periodical with national and international distribution. It was published for 13 years, starting in 1969.

Magazine and Newsletters.

"This archive contains documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present." 1954-1955

"The site narrates the unique history of Starkville, Mississippi’s civil rights struggles with particular emphasis on the local fight for school desegregation." - Mississippi State University

FBI documents on the Nation of Islam leader. Late 1950s

This digital collection contains images of Carver as well as letters and correspondence between Carver and Iowa State colleagues. The majority of correspondence is to Carver's mentor, Dr. Louis Pammel, on a variety of scientific topics. 1880s - 1940s

Columbia University

Stanford University

The King Center. "There are nearly a million documents associated with the life of Martin Luther King Jr. These pages will present a more dynamic view than is often seen of Dr. King’s life and times."

Digital Library of Georgia

The papers of Birmingham's notorious Commissioner of Public Safety. The papers, which consist of letters, memoranda, clippings, photographs and reports, are the office files kept by Theophilius Eugene "Bull" Connor during his last five years as Commissioner of Public Safety. Mid 1900s

"The Tom C. Clark Papers contain a comprehensive record of Justice Clark's activities as a U.S. Supreme Court Justice." 1949 -1977

"Scholar, writer, editor of The Crisis and other journals, co-founder of the Niagara Movement, the NAACP, and the Pan African Congresses, international spokesperson for peace and for the rights of oppressed minorities."

University of Florida.

"The transcription of a manuscript version of Alex Haley's essay "The Malcolm X I Knew," originally published by Saga magazine in November 1965, the same month in which The Autobiography of Malcolm X was published. Saga was a pulp men's magazine published by New York's Gambi Publications." - Scholarly Editing

The collection, "documents many aspects of Parks's private life and public activism on behalf of civil rights for African Americans." - Library of Congress

"African-American expressions of writing, music, and art during the 1920s and 1930s are well represented in the vast collections of the Library of Congress. This guide presents the Library's resources as well as links to external Web sites on the Harlem Renaissance and a bibliography."

"Drop Me Off in Harlem is a Web-based resource for teachers and students that explores the themes and works that emerged when creative and intellectual voices intersected during the Harlem Renaissance."

"The Harlem Renaissance of the 1920s and 1930s was a period characterized by an outpouring of literature by African Americans. Although it was primarily a literary and intellectual movement, it is our hope to also explore the role of the visual arts, music and performing arts."

"Legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City's Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930."

"In 1968, in Memphis, Tennessee, the labor movement and the civil rights movement came together in a monumental struggle for human and public employee rights." This was the last event that Martin Luther King spoke.

"Provides access to archival resources documenting the modern civil rights era in Greensboro, North Carolina, from the 1940s to the early 1980s."

Library of Congress

Website "serves to collect and preserve the history of African Americans in the Midwest."

"The Jack Rabin Collection on Alabama Civil Rights and Southern Activists is a compact but highly complex, multi-layered compilation of documents, sound recordings, and visual images." 1960s

"Arkansas has a long and remarkably complex civil rights history. While the 1957 Little Rock Central High School integration crisis is well known nationally and even internationally, it is merely one of a myriad of historical events that touch on civil rights."

Library of Congress. Primary sources related to "200 years of African American struggle and achievement."

The site presents more than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps. It is organized around thirteen defining migrations that have formed and transformed African America and the nation.

"Freedom House was founded in 1949 to centralize community activism in the fight for neighborhood improvement, good schools, and harmony among racial, ethnic, and religious groups in Roxbury, MA." Northeastern University

"The experience of African Americans in Tidewater, Virginia." Topics include
Black Hospitals and Health Care and the Brown Decision. - Virginia Endowment for the Humanities.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website about the experiments.

"This collection focuses on President Truman's decision to desegregate the U.S. Armed Forces. It includes 247 documents totaling 1,187 pages, covering the years 1938-1953." - Truman Library

"The Green Book was a travel guide published between 1936 and 1966 that listed hotels, restaurants, bars, gas stations, etc. where black travelers would be welcome."

"At the AAAMC, you will find materials covering a range of African American musical idioms and cultural expressions primarily from the post-World War II era. Our collections highlight popular, religious, and classical music, with genres ranging from blues and gospel to R&B and contemporary hip hop."

"Facilitating and encouraging the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture and responsible leadership through Hiphop."

"The rich and soulful sounds from the "Golden Age of Gospel" (roughly 1945-1975) are distinctly African American. They are the voices of men and women who loved to sing and raise their voices in praise."

"The Collection features: hundreds of party and event flyers ca. 1977-1985; thousands of early vinyl recordings, cassettes and CDs; film and video; record label press packets and publicity; black books, photographs, magazines, books, clothing, and more."

Black Natchez (1967) charts early attempts to organize and register Black voters and the formation of a self defense group in the Black community. In 1965, filmmaker Ed Pincus and David Newuman spent ten weeks in Natchez, Mississippi, filming the lives of ordinary people with unedited coverage of public and private civil rights organizational meetings, street demonstrations, and contests of power between young militants and the old guard, as well as secret meetings of African American self-defense organizations and interaction among the Black community.

WHDH film collection (1960- mid-1970s), Cambridge Community Television (1988 to 1999), Northeast Historic Film’s WCVB film collection (1970-1979), and WGBH-produced The Reporters (1970-1973), Evening Compass (1973-1975) and the Ten O’Clock News.

"An analysis of news and public affairs independent from traditional corporate media is available from this diverse video library. These collections offer an alternative way to view and interpret current news and public affairs."

"This collection contains transcribed meetings and interviews with Civil Rights workers in the South recorded by several Stanford students affiliated with the campus radio station KZSU during the summer of 1965."

"The current archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke." University of Virginia

Dates: 2009 - Present. Uses closed captioning to enable users to search, quote and borrow U.S. TV news programs.

"The current archive contains films from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia--WDBJ (CBS) Roanoke and WSLS (NBC) Roanoke. In this initial installment we have digitized over 230 films. This rare footage includes full speeches of Martin Luther King, Jr., John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, the governors of the Commonwealth of Virginia, as well as original footage of school desegregation, public meetings, local debates over civil rights matters, and interviews with citizens." - Virginia Center for Digital History

"Explore the History of Segregation on Dick Clark's American Bandstand." This digital project is a companion to a book from University of California Press, American Crossroads series (February 2012) by Matt Delmont.

"A project of the Black Press Institute, a partnership between the National Newspaper Publishers Association Foundation and Howard University. The only national website featuring news exclusively from African-American journalists and Black community publications." Present.

Fromm Google Books. 1961-1976. "Founded in 1943, Negro Digest (later “Black World”) was the publication that launched Johnson Publishing. During the most turbulent years of the civil rights movement, Negro Digest/Black World served as a critical vehicle for political thought for supporters of the movement."

Dates for newspapers range from 1700 - 2014. The archive is weak for the 60s and 70s but does contain information for the 80s - present.

"This guide provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google."

Cornell University. American Historical Newspapers Online: Regions and Subjects

The largest collection of free, digitized newspaper collections.

From the Google News Archive. "The Village Voice introduced free-form, high-spirited and passionate journalism into the public discourse. As the nation's first and largest alternative newsweekly, the Voice carries on the same tradition of no-holds-barred reporting and criticism it embraced when it began publishing nearly 60 years ago."

In 1965, Random House published Robert Penn Warren’s book titled Who Speaks for the Negro? In preparation for writing the volume, Warren traveled throughout the United States in early 1964 and spoke with large numbers of men and women who were involved in the U.S. Civil Rights Movement. The Who Speaks for the Negro? website is a digital archive of materials related to the book of the same name published by Robert Penn Warren in 1965.

"This digital collection includes twenty issues of newspapers published by the Black Americans for Democracy (BAD), a student organization founded in the late 1960s."

The masthead declared it to be “The voice of the Afro-American protest movement in the United States and the liberation movement of Africa”. - 1961-1965

"Eyes on the Prize is considered to be the definitive documentary on the Civil Rights Movement."

The University of Southern Mississippi

"This collection of interviews seeks to make this massive movement local and understandable by reducing it into its smallest parts—the people that participated, in small and large ways." Mid 1900s

"The Church in the Southern Black Community collects autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories, encyclopedias, and other published materials." - The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Mid 1800s - Mid 1900s

Blackpast.org. Major Speeches by African American leaders between 1787 - 2013.

American RadioWorks, American Public Media

"Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication."

Information regarding all of the Department of State's international efforts.

Information released by the Department of State from January 20, 2001 to January 20, 2009.

"This publication was intended to convey the activities of the Department of State to the Public." Digitized by the Boston Public Library.

A voluntary declassification program that focuses on records of historical value. Records cover: 1973 Arab-Israeli War, 9/11 Attacks, Camp David Accords.

A good starting point for learning about a country's basic facts and history.

The mission of USAID is to, "partner to end extreme poverty and promote resilient, democratic societies while advancing our security and prosperity." Website includes historical and current information on foreign assistance programs and finance.

"This digital gateway draws in documents, photographs, and audiovisual materials found at Duke and other SNCC-related collections in repositories across the country and uses them to chronicle the historic struggles for voting rights that youth, converging with older community leaders, fought for and won." 1960s