Can I use the citations made by the database I am using?
Generally we find that information given within databases is misleading and their examples are routinely wrong. Databases often provide a "source citation" at the bottom of the article. Although these source citations provide useful data (e.g., title of the database, authors, etc.), spend the time to review them thoroughly and compare them to the style guide examples before simply copying and pasting those examples into your source list.
From the NoodeTools Help Desk
What is a stable URL?
The web address displayed in your browser's address bar is not always stable. Sometimes it includes code that makes the reading accessible on your workstation for a short period of time. You can see if a web address is stable by opening a different browser than the one you were using (e.g. Firefox instead of Chrome) and testing the web address you created. If it doesn't work, there are extra steps that you can try:
Look for a stable web address on the article/resource web page. Often there is a link that allows you to bookmark or jumpstart the article or email a link. If you cannot find a stable URL use the Database # associated with the item. This can be found in the bottom portion of the page near the citation information. Use the DOI (Digitial Object Identifier) for the article.
Fall 2020: Sign-in to Noodletools is now through Google! Please follow the steps below for help setting up your account!
Use your NoodleTools account to create your Works Cited list.
*Select the Chicago Citation Style and Advanced.
*For help with your account, please ask Ms. Kane.
We now use G Suite for Noodletools access. To log in, click on Sign in with Google button on the right side of this login page:
If this is not your first time logging in this way, you will be automatically logged in and see your My Projects screen. If this is your first time logging in this way, go to 3. Account setup below to create a new account or link an existing account to your Google ID.
Registering your account
Under Account Setup: Step 2, "I am a student or library patron" is selected by default. If you are a teacher, select "I am a teacher or librarian" (this option includes the Assignment Inbox feature that allows students to share projects with you).
A. New user (If you have an existing account, go to the next section.)
If you are a new NoodleTools user, leave the "Create account" tab selected (default) and click the "Create Account" button.
On the next screen, under "Update Profile," select your graduation year (and name of your school, if necessary) and click "Save Profile."
The next screen will be My Projects in your new NoodleTools account.
B. Linking to a previously-created account NOTE: This option applies only to schools that still have non-Google-linked accounts. If your school or district has always used G Suite for authentication, you will get only the "create" option.
If you have an older account that you previously accessed using a Personal ID and password (i.e. from a trial or from the subscription before G Suite authentication was enabled), select the "I have an existing account" tab. You will be prompted to enter your old Personal ID and password.
If you do not remember your password, your librarian or NoodleTools administrator can reset it for you (clicking the "Forgot your old password?" link opens our help page for administrators "How to reset a user's password in the admin area"). Click the button "Link Account." NoodleTools will link your old account to your Google ID and take you to the My Projects screen with your saved projects.
Scholarly Responsibility:
When you do research, you should always remember that it is your responsibility as a scholar to give proper credit to the sources you use. A source is any book, web site. article, film, image or document you use in the course of your research. If you use someone else's ideas without telling the reader where you got the information, you are committing plagiarism. Plagiarism is a very serious form of academic dishonesty, and you must always take the greatest care to avoid it. To avoid plagiarism, simply provide documentation for any idea or facts that you found as part of your research. Documenting your sources also allows anyone who reviews your project to locate and verify your sources.
- Crow, Suzanne, "Guide to Writing Citations," The Spence School, last modified August 8, 2014, accessed September 25, 2014, https://spenceschool.onwhipplehill.com/podium/default.aspx?t=204&nid=736227.
Places to get help online:
Chicago Documentation Style by Diana Hacker: A quick overview of how to cite different sources in a bibliography and a footnote
Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue University Online Writing Lab: An excellent resource for citation information and research help.
Chicago Manual of Style: Online edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Provides examples for obscure sources.
Click on the top tabs to view a video tutorial about citing a particular type of source in Noodletools.
Click on the top tabs to Cite a Secondary Source in Noodletools.
In Noodletools, select Database and then Book.
Watch the video below for detailed information about how to cite a book using an ISBN number or completing the citation manually. When citing a book you ALWAYS need to include a: Author (or Editor), Title, Publisher, Place of Publication, Date of Publication, URL (ebook) and the name of the database (ebook).
In Noodletools, select Database and then Book.
When citing a book that is an edited compilation, since each chapter or section will have a different author, you need to cite each chapter individually. You need to cite: Author(s) of Section, Section Title, page # of the section, Book Editor(s), Book Title, Publisher, Place of Publication, Date of Publication, URL (ebook) and the name of the database (ebook).
