Databases & Websites - 2023 Spring - Grade 8 Science - Life Cycle Analysis Project - Spence School Library at The Spence School

Spence Library Databases

World Book Encyclopedia for Students This link opens in a new window
The World Book Encyclopedia provides articles, maps and photographs, as well as an atlas and dictionary.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
The online provides access to articles, photographs, maps and links to related Web sites, as well as to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the world atlas, a timeline and Britannica’s annual “Year in Review.”
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
This resource offers extensive information for many scientific disciplines, coming the form of topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles from Science Weekly, Science News and The Science Teacher.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
General Reference Database Designed for Young Researchers
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Middle School is a cross-disciplinary database aimed at middle school students that includes literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. A visual interface design and navigation preferred by younger users is combined with user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework. Gale's reference content includes age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.
Proquest Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once. It contains access to historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles. Subject Areas: Arts & Humanities, Business, General Research, Health Sciences & Nursing, Literature, News & Issues, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Science Online offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help students find a starting point for their research.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Middle School Science This link opens in a new window
A selection of science books for middle school projects.
Culture Grams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams™ is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world, including all 50 states. CultureGrams provides country reports that go include both facts and figures as well as information on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Individual reports covering 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces, are current and written and reviewed by in-country experts.

Web Sites - A Selection

For this project, the most efficient pathway to information on the web is to search Google using keywords specific to your object and specific to the the questions outlined in the rubric. You are permitted to search Google freely for information. We only ask that you use reliable sources and take into account questions of bias. Here are a few leads for specific websites that could be helpful - but know that these are just leads.

All Purpose Websites:

For Raw Materials and Processing:

Search Google with "How It's Made" and your object
How Everyday Products are Made - for greatest efficiency on this very old-fashioned website, search for the name of your object
OEC: The Observatory of Economic Complexity
Dissolve This

For General Fate and Impact Questions:

"Wastewater Treatment Process," NYC Department of Environmental Protection

"Where does New York City Trash Go?," New York Times (9/25/2014) - video clip

"How Garbage is Recycled at the US' Largest Recycling Facility (Brooklyn)," Insider (5/29/2018) - video clip

How Recycling Works, SciShow Kids (3/23/2016) - video clip

"7 Reasons Why Recycling Isn't Working in New York City," New York Times

"They Are Giant Digester Eggs and You'll Never Guess What They Eat!" World Science Festival

Green America

TreeHugger.com

"Environmental Impacts of Hydroelectric Power," Union of Concerned Scientists

2023 Spring - Grade 8 Science - Life Cycle Analysis Project: Databases & Websites

Spence Library Databases

Web Sites - A Selection

A Few Leads on Aluminum Foil

A Few Leads on Plastic

A Few Leads on Cork

A Few Leads on Cotton T-Shirt

A Few Leads on Chocolate