Use your NoodleTools account to create your Bibliography.
To log in, click on the Google Icon to use your Spence Gmail Account.
*Select the Chicago Citation Style and Advanced.
*For help with your account, please ask Ms. Crow or Ms. Kane.
4. Registering your account
Under Account setup: Step 2, "I am a student or library patron" is selected by default. If you are a teacher, select "I am a teacher or librarian" (this option includes the Assignment Inbox feature that allows students to share projects with you).
A. New user
(If you have an existing account, go to the next section.)
If you are a new NoodleTools user, leave the "Create account" tab selected (default) and click the "Create Account" button.
On the next screen, under "Update Profile," select your graduation year (and name of your school, if necessary) and click "Save Profile."
The next screen will be My Projects in your new NoodleTools account.
B. Existing account
If you have an old account that you previously accessed using a Personal ID and password (i.e. from a trial or from the subscription before G Suite authentication was enabled), select the "I have an existing account" tab. You will be prompted to enter your old Personal ID and password.
If you do not remember your password, your librarian or NoodleTools administrator can reset it for you (clicking the "Forgot your old password?" link opens our help page for administrators "How to reset a user's password in the admin area").
Click the button "Link Account." NoodleTools will link your old account to your Google ID and take you to the My Projects screen with your saved projects.
What is a citation and citation style?
A citation is a way of giving credit to individuals for their creative and intellectual works that you utilized to support your research. It can also be used to locate particular sources and combat plagiarism. Typically, a citation can include the author's name, date, location of the publishing company, journal title, or URL.
A citation style dictates the information necessary for a citation and how the information is ordered, as well as punctuation and other formatting. Style guides are used as a way of making common elements consistent across documents written by many writers, in many places, and in many circumstances; as a result, readers from any university (or other audience groups) can read a paper written in Chicago style and know immediately how to navigate the headings of the paper, which details will be listed in the abstract, how quotes will be introduced and marked, where to look for important citation information, and what each citation element represents.
How do I choose a citation style?
There are many different ways of citing resources from your research. The citation style sometimes depends on the academic discipline involved. For example:
APA (American Psychological Association) is used by Education, Psychology, and Sciences
MLA (Modern Language Association) style is used by the Humanities
Chicago/Turabian style is generally used by Business, History, and the Fine Arts
Chicago is a documentation style that has been published by the Chicago University Press since 1906. This citation style incorporates rules of grammar and punctuation common in American English. Typically, Chicago style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) notes and bibliography and (2) author-date.
The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in the humanities, including those in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography.
Can I use the citations made by the database I am using?
Generally we find that information given within databases is misleading and their examples are routinely wrong. Databases often provide a "source citation" at the bottom of the article. Although these source citations provide useful data (e.g., title of the database, authors, etc.), spend the time to review them thoroughly and compare them to the style guide examples before simply copying and pasting those examples into your source list.
From the NoodeTools Help Desk
What is a stable URL?
The web address displayed in your browser's address bar is not always stable. Sometimes it includes code that makes the reading accessible on your workstation for a short period of time. You can see if a web address is stable by opening a different browser than the one you were using (e.g. Firefox instead of Chrome) and testing the web address you created. If it doesn't work, there are extra steps that you can try:
Look for a stable web address on the article/resource web page. Often there is a link that allows you to bookmark or jumpstart the article or email a link. If you cannot find a stable URL use the Database # associated with the item. This can be found in the bottom portion of the page near the citation information. Use the DOI (Digitial Object Identifier) for the article.
*Use your NoodleTools account to create your Works Cited list.
*Select the Chicago Citation Style and Advanced.
*For help with your account, please ask Ms. Crow or Ms. Kane.
A Pocket Guide to Writing in History by Scholarly Responsibility:
When you do research, you should always remember that it is your responsibility as a scholar to give proper credit to the sources you use. A source is any book, web site. article, film, image or document you use in the course of your research. If you use someone else's ideas without telling the reader where you got the information, you are committing plagiarism. Plagiarism is a very serious form of academic dishonesty, and you must always take the greatest care to avoid it. To avoid plagiarism, simply provide documentation for any idea or facts that you found as part of your research. Documenting your sources also allows anyone who reviews your project to locate and verify your sources.
- Crow, Suzanne, "Guide to Writing Citations," The Spence School, last modified August 8, 2014, accessed September 25, 2014, https://spenceschool.onwhipplehill.com/podium/default.aspx?t=204&nid=736227.
Places to get help online:
Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue University Online Writing Lab: An excellent resource for citation information and research help.
Chicago Manual of Style: Online edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Provides examples for obscure sources.
Can I use the citations made by the database I am using?
Generally we find that information given within databases is misleading and their examples are routinely wrong. Databases often provide a "source citation" at the bottom of the article. Although these source citations provide useful data (e.g., title of the database, authors, etc.), spend the time to review them thoroughly and compare them to the style guide examples before simply copying and pasting those examples into your source list.
From the NoodeTools Help Desk
What is a stable URL?
The web address displayed in your browser's address bar is not always stable. Sometimes it includes code that makes the reading accessible on your workstation for a short period of time. You can see if a web address is stable by opening a different browser than the one you were using (e.g. Firefox instead of Chrome) and testing the web address you created. If it doesn't work, there are extra steps that you can try:
Look for a stable web address on the article/resource web page. Often there is a link that allows you to bookmark or jumpstart the article or email a link. If you cannot find a stable URL use the Database # associated with the item. This can be found in the bottom portion of the page near the citation information. Use the DOI (Digitial Object Identifier) for the article.
