"Primary sources represent one person's perspective; frequently will be used with secondary/tertiary sources to broaden the lens through which a researcher is looking at an event, era, or phenomenon. It is important when using anything as a primary source that the researcher be cognizant of and sensitive to the bias of the observer/analyzer that created the primary source, and also to the broader cultural biases of the era in which the primary source was created." - UCI Libraries
Important: To find primary sources using ProQuest set a date limit to the years you are researching:
To cite primary source newspapers: Choose Database, "Newspaper" and then include all citation information (including the page number).
To Find a Primary Source in an Anthology: search a keyword such as the name of a leader or event.
To cite a primary source published within a book: Choose "Database" and then choose "Anthology". Choose the best option for your source. If you are not sure, choose "Story, Essay, Longer Work" and do the best you can. Make sure you include: the author, the title, the date of creation, the page range it occurs in the anthology.
These databases contain a mix of primary and tertiary sources. Not sure about whether the source you are looking at is primary? Ask Ms. Kane!
Mussolini and Italian Fascism by 
Mediterranean Fascism 1919-1945
Behind Valkyrie by 
Resistance and Conformity in the Third Reich
Hitler and Nazi Germany
The German Left and the Weimar RepublicBehind Valkyrie by 
Metropolis Berlin
The War for World Power by Speeches:
Speeches in World History by 
Spanish Fascist Writing
The Spanish Civil WarMediterranean Fascism 1919-1945
Stalinism as a Way of Life
Stalin and the Soviet Union
The Voice of the People
The War Against the Peasantry, 1927-1930
Sources of Indian Traditions
Sources of Japanese Tradition
The Nanjing Atrocities
The Nanjing Atrocities: Crimes of War details the events unfolding in China and Japan in the years leading up to World War II in East Asia, and the Japanese occupation of the city of Nanjing, China, in 1937. Following our guiding scope and sequence, and including a foreword by Benjamin Ferencz, a war crimes prosecutor at the Nuremberg Trials, this resource lays a broad framework and contains an in-depth examination of the war crimes known today as the Nanjing Atrocities. This book begins by exploring the impact of imperialism in East Asia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the rise of nationalism and militarism, and how these developments affected the complexity of nation building efforts in China and Japan. It addresses the brutality of war and the crimes committed in Nanjing through an examination of the choices made by leaders, soldiers, and witnesses. The history is presented through firsthand accounts and perspectives from survivors and foreigners living in Nanjing during the Japanese occupation. When examining the aftermath and legacy of the war in China, readers are asked to consider the importance of justice and memory, issues still relevant today as nations in East Asia continue to wrestle with how to remember, teach, and understand the Nanjing Atrocities. The Nanjing Atrocities is an invaluable resource for educators and students of history seeking an overview of World War II in East Asia.
The Modern Middle East
Chinese Comfort Women
The Speech (Nutuk) - 1927 by 
The Japanese-Soviet Neutrality Pact
The neutrality pact between Japan and the Soviet Union, signed in April 1941, lapsed only nine months before its expiry date of April 1946 when the Soviet Union attacked Japan. Japan's neutrality had enabled Stalin to move Far Eastern forces to the German front where they contributed significantly to Soviet victories from Moscow to Berlin. Slavinsky suggests that Stalin's agreement with Churchill and Roosevelt to attack Japan after Germany's surrender allowed him to keep Japan in the war until he was ready to attack and thus avenge Russia's defeat in the war of 1904-1905. The Soviet Union's violation of the pact and the detention of Japanese prisoners for up to ten years after the end of the war created a sense of victimization in Japan to the extent that there is still no formal Peace Treaty between the two countries to this day. Slavinsky draws on recently opened Russian archival material to demonstrate that the Soviet Union was passing information about the Allies to Japan during the Second World War. He also persuasively argues that vengeance and the (re)acquistion of land were the primary motives for the attack on Japan. The book contains empirical data previously unavailable in English and will fascinate anyone with an interest in the history of Japan, the Soviet Union and the events of the Second World War.
Poland:
Voices from the Warsaw Ghetto - Writing Our History
Notes from the Warsaw Ghetto: the Journal of Emmanuel Ringelblum
When the walls of the Warsaw Ghetto first went up in November 1940, Emmanuel Ringelblum was there. In the face of horrendous persecution and palpable danger, his goal was to create a written record of life in the Ghetto, not just the destitution and brutality of life under Nazi rule, but out of the shining acts of nobility and heroism by people under the most dire circumstances. From Inside the Ghetto, Ringelblum, a well-respected historian and archivist, compiled his journal recording daily life in the Ghetto, from its beginnings to the eve of the Ghetto uprising in April 1943. Using accounts and anecdotes from his many friends and neighbours, Ringelblum created a detailed, colourful, and emotional record of one of the most terrible epochs in human history. Notes from the Warsaw Ghetto is an unflinching, first-hand account of history unfolding before your very eyes.
France:
The French at War, 1934-1944
An American Heroine in the French ResistanceGeneral:
Digital Libraries
A digital library is a special library with a focused collection of digital objects that can include text, visual material, audio material, video material, stored as electronic media formats (as opposed to print, microform, or other media), along with means for organizing, storing, and retrieving the files and media contained in the library collection." - Pradeep B Ghante ed and Ashok Yakkaldevi ed, Library Automation (Solapur: Laxmi Book Publications, 2014), 17.
France During WWII:
Warsaw Ghetto Uprising:
To cite these primary sources, choose website and then "Website", "historical work in an archive", the "Manuscript".
Famine in Bengal:
Cite as a book from a website
Egyptian Independence:
Cite as a book from a website.
Appeasement:
To cite these documents choose "website" and then the appropriate type of document. If you are not sure, email Ms. Kane with the link.
Holodomor:
Cite as an anthology from a website and then choose the appropriate type of source.
