Spence School Library: 2021 Fall Elective: American Cultural History: PRIMARY SOURCE Databases

Databases Primary Sources

Spence School Library Databases:

Proquest Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once. It contains access to historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles. Subject Areas: Arts & Humanities, Business, General Research, Health Sciences & Nursing, Literature, News & Issues, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
American Periodicals Series, 1740-1940 This link opens in a new window
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor is a digital library of more than one million high-quality images in arts and architecture, the social sciences and the humanities. The resource offers tools that can be used to view present and manage images. Register for a free account to get the most out of ARTstor.

New York Public Library Primary Source Databases

New York Public Library Databases:

Artemis Primary Sources A full-text database that cross-searches Gale's primary source collections, including Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO), and Sabin Americana.
Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity Contains 18 digitized archival collections exploring LGBTQ history and culture since 1940.
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress This archive, from the NYPL's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, documents the Civil Rights Congress (CRC) which was established in 1946 to, among other things, "combat all forms of discrimination against…labor, the Negro people and the Jewish people, and racial, political, religious, and national minorities." Dates of inclusion range from 1946-1955.
Harper's Bazaar Archive The entire run of Harper's Bazaar, in full text and full color, from 1867-present. *Keep in the mind that because this title is newly released, only select content, mostly from 1970-2008, has been loaded thus far.
Independent Voices Independent Voices is a growing digital collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative and small press archives of participating libraries.
Indigenous Peoples: North America Over 50 archival collections documenting the Native American experience.
Liberty Magazine The Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 offers researchers and students of twentieth century studies digital access to one of the most popular American illustrated weekly magazines of the 1920s-1950s.
New Yorker Digital Archive The entire run of the New Yorker, in full text and full color, from 1925-present.
ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers: African American historical newspapers throughout the United States.
Women's Magazine Archive The Women's Magazine Archive provides digital access to decades of women's-interest magazines in high-resolution color and in full-text from cover to cover. This collection covers magazines from the 19th and 20th centuries.