Spence School Library: 2021 Fall Elective: American Cultural History: ARTICLES

Scholarly Journal Articles

Only Scholarly Journal Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text journal articles in the arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences. While you won’t find current journal articles, you will find articles dating from 3-5 years ago to many decades ago.

Comprehensive (Scholarly Journals, Magazines, Newspapers)

Proquest Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once. It contains access to historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles. Subject Areas: Arts & Humanities, Business, General Research, Health Sciences & Nursing, Literature, News & Issues, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. Millions of articles are available in both PDF and HTML full-text format.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.

Subject Specific

Gale Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window
Pop culture is all around us and influences our lives every day. This collection provides useful information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or liberal arts course. This collection is made up of more than 100 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
Gale Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Google Scholar

New York Public Library Databases

To locate a complete list of New York Public Library databases visit: http://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases

The links below will take you to the NYPL library website. To use the databases you need a NYPL library card.

Please see Ms. Kane if you would like to receive one.

Academic Search Premier: A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.

Independent Voices: A collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative and small press archives.

Ethnic NewsWatch: Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America.

Project Muse: Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals.

2021 Fall Elective: American Cultural History: ARTICLES

Scholarly Journal Articles

Google Scholar

New York Public Library Databases

Rules for Search for Sources