Spence School Library: 2022 Fall Elective: American Cultural History: Food & Cultural History Tertiary

Assignment

A Cultural History of Food
A Cultural History of Food presents a comprehensive, authoritative overview of food from ancient times to the present.
Volume 1: Antiquity - Volume 2: The Medieval Age - Volume 3: The Renaissance - Volume 4: The Early Modern Age - Volume 5: The Age of Empire - Volume 6: The Modern Age
Each volume discusses the same themes in its chapters: 1. Food Production 2. Food Systems 3. Food Security, Safety and Crises 4. Food and Politics 5. Eating Out 6. Professional Cooking, Kitchens and Service Work 7. Family and Domesticity 8.Body and Soul 9. Food Representations 10. World Developments.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference provides the full text of subject encyclopedias, language dictionaries, quotation dictionaries, companion series, and many more reference sources.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History This link opens in a new window
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated articles about American History.

Encyclopedia of American Studies
The Encyclopedia of American Studies (EAS) covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States, from pre-colonial days to the present, and the American Studies movement. This site features excellent bibliographies as well a series of links to primary source archives at the bottom of every article. Published by Johns Hopkins University Press.