2022 Fall Elective: American Cultural History: Primary Sources: Menus and Cookbooks

The menus are from hotel restaurants, stand-alone restaurants, and steamships in Texas and surrounding areas.

Blog by Henry Voigt. Menus from throughout history with a focus on the US.

Characterizes the culinary life of San Francisco and Northern California from 1920 through the 1980's.

Collection of 30,000 historical menus from all of the states and over 80 countries, as well as ships, railroads and airlines.

This collection represents menus, placemats, and other graphic materials from many of the Puget Sound area in the years between 1889 and 2003.

A database of menus from Los Angeles, other cities, steamships, airlines and banquets. Images of the actual menus are being added.

Part of the National Restaurant Association Menu Collection.

The menu collection comprises over 400 menus from airline carriers, cruise ships, and railroad companies, dating from 1929 to the present.

Consists of approximately 2000 restaurant menus dating from 1870-1930.

The Nobel Banquet is held every year on 10 December to celebrate the years Nobel Laureates.

The Navy Department Library's growing collection of historic Navy Thanksgiving, Christmas and miscellaneous dinner menus.

Ephemera material collected by the National Library of Australia

With approximately 45,000 menus dating from the 1840s to the present.

Resources compiled by Martha Carlin | Department of History, University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.

This website seeks to share a private collection of original menus from banquets hosted by Emperors, Kings and Queens throughout history.

Menus featured here are South Australian unless otherwise specified.

Menus span the period from 1946 to around 1982.

From the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, etc.

The digitized historical cookbooks in this collection date from the 1700s to the 1900s. Mostly American and British.

Cookbooks and recipe leaflets from the Woman's Collection Cookbook Collection dating back to the 1880s. Texas Women's University

Online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.

Electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950.

Over 1,000 free historic cookbooks grouped by date and author.

Over 35,000 cookbooks spanning six centuries from all the continents of the world.

Documenting the national effort to promote and implement a plan to make food the key to winning World War I.

UTSA’s Mexican Cookbook Collection is comprised of more than 1,500 cookbooks, from 1789 to the present, with most books dating from 1940-2000.