Skip to Main Content

Global II: Holocaust Research: Citation: NoodleTools

NoodleTools

     

*Use your NoodleTools account to create your Works Cited list.

*Select the Chicago Citation Style and Advanced.

*For help with your account, please ask Ms. Crow or Ms. Kane.

  

Find Help with NoodleTools & Citation

Places to get help online:

United States Holocaust Museum: Website citation tips

Chicago Documentation Style by Diana Hacker: A quick overview of how to cite different sources in a bibliography and a footnote

Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue University Online Writing Lab: An excellent resource for citation information and research help. 

Chicago Manual of Style: Online edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Provides examples for obscure sources.

What Should You Cite?

You should write down every source that gives you information for your project. For this project, your sources will likely include: 

1) Print books

2) Encyclopedia articles, both from Spence Library databases and from printed books.

3) Magazine articles, print or online

4) Websites

5) Images from websites 

Why Cite?

  • Give credit where credit is due.  The author worked hard to create the source you have chose to incorporate into your project! 
  • Leave "information breadcrumbs" for yourself and for your teacher.  By recording the right information about your source, you and your teacher will be to follow your trail and locate your sources.
  • Avoid plagiarism. Don't take credit for knowledge or ideas that you did not develop on your own.
  • A good works cited list keeps your organized.  If you record relevant information about each source as you go, you won't have to scramble to track down information later.

Tip!: From the NoodeTools Help Desk

Can I use the citations made by the database I am using?

Generally we find that information given within databases is misleading and their examples are routinely wrong. Databases often provide a "source citation" at the bottom of the article. Although these source citations provide useful data (e.g., title of the database, authors, etc.), spend the time to review them thoroughly and compare them to the style guide examples before simply copying and pasting those examples into your source list.

From the NoodeTools Help Desk

Inserting Citations into Word

How to Create a Footnote

On a Word or Pages doc, place your cursor at the end of the sentence for which you must include a citation. To do this, go to the top menu bar and click on "INSERT." Scroll down to "FOOTNOTE" and click OK in the dialog box that pops up (don't change anything). You'll be taken to the bottom of the page and your cursor will appear after the small number (the same number will also appear in your text, where you had asked to insert). Input the citation information, if you are using NoodleTools, you can copy and paste the citation.

Hints:

  • Do not use Ibid., the term used to provide a footnote citation for a source that was cited in the preceding footnote. if you reogranize your paper and sentaces, your citation information will become inaccurate.
  • Remember to put the page number at the end of every footnote. When citing webpages ask your teacher what he/she prefers you use instead of a page #.

Scholarly Responsibility

When you do research, you should always remember that it is your responsibility as a scholar to give proper credit to the sources you use. A source is any book, web site. article, film, image or document you use in the course of your research. If you use someone else's ideas without telling the reader where you got the information, you are committing plagiarism. Plagiarism is a very serious form of academic dishonesty, and you must always take the greatest care to avoid it. To avoid plagiarism, simply provide documentation for any idea or facts that you found as part of your research. Documenting your sources also allows anyone who reviews your project to locate and verify your sources.

- Crow, Suzanne, "Guide to Writing Citations," The Spence School, last modified August 8, 2014, accessed September 25, 2014, https://spenceschool.onwhipplehill.com/podium/default.aspx?t=204&nid=736227.