Spence School Library: 2024 Spring English Colonies Project: Resources for Research

Books

In your History classroom, you will find a cart full of books about the individual colonies and the 13 colonies in general. Please be sure to return the books to the cart when you are not using them. That way, others can use them too! These books need to stay at school.

Library Databases

American History This link opens in a new window
The database includes more than 16,000 primary and secondary sources, including government and court documents, photos, maps, audio and video recordings beginning with the colonial era.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
This encyclopedia provides access to articles, photographs, maps and links to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary and the world atlas.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Reference Resource. Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history to cover the American experience.
Explora Ebsco Host (Middle School) This link opens in a new window
Magazines, encyclopedias and ebooks great for middle school research.
World Book Encyclopedia for Students This link opens in a new window
The World Book Encyclopedia provides articles, maps and photographs, as well as an atlas and dictionary.
American Indian History This link opens in a new window
American Indian History provides information on culture and history, covering more than 600 Native American groups, through biographies, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines.
United States Geography This link opens in a new window
United States Geography profiles all 50 U.S. states, providing information on the government, economy, history, and issues of each. This database includes primary and secondary sources, including images, maps, audio and video recordings, profiles of indigenous peoples and important organizations, acts and laws, and state flags and animals.