Spence School Library: Latine Heritage Month in the Libraries: Explore

Library Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive news collection ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Provides over 13,000 primary sources from 200 countries in 21 different languages, including Spanish and French.
American Mosaic: The Latino-American Experience This link opens in a new window
This database documents the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic groups in the United States. Their stories are detailed through a robust collection of primary and secondary sources, beginning with pre-16th century Mayan, Incan, and Aztec empires and continuing through to the present day, with treatment also given to cultural themes including coming-of-age rituals, music, literature, and cuisine. It includes more than 2,500 primary documents and media, including speeches, maps, songs, audio clips, interviews, and vivid historical photographs.
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window
Accurate and age-appropriate content in Spanish for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students and students learning Spanish.
Culture Grams This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams™ is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world, including all 50 states. CultureGrams provides country reports that go include both facts and figures as well as information on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Individual reports covering 200+ countries, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces, are current and written and reviewed by in-country experts.
Hispanic American Newspapers, Series I: 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.

What is the history of National Hispanic Heritage Month?

Learn More

Why is it called Latine Heritage Month?

From a post by the Chicago History Museum:

Latino/a: This is the most widely embraced identity term that goes beyond country of heritage. It was added to the US Census in 2000. For a while people tried to use “Latin@” to be inclusive of gender.

Latinx: The failing of “Latino/a” is that it leaves out nonbinary folks. “Latinx” is an attempt to be more inclusive of gender nonconforming Latinos, but Spanish speakers have not widely accepted it. The criticisms are that it is difficult to say in Spanish and that people who are used to “Latino” don’t want to change their habit. In addition, despite best intentions, this term also felt like an example of linguistic colonialism–an imposition from the US.

Latine: Though “Latinx” is quite challenging to say in Spanish, “Latine” is easy. Spanish speakers are increasingly adopting this term, which originated in Spanish-speaking countries, to replace “Latinx.”

This concept is explained visually in a comic by Terry Blas. Click here to view it in its entirety.