This page contains links to library databases that index scholarly journal articles. We have a new database "Academic Search Ultimate" that provides access to major Science Journals. If you search within Google Scholar or Microsoft Academic and are having trouble locating the full text of an article, try searching for it in ProQuest or Academic Search Premier. You can also email the title to Ms. Kane or Dr. Kraft.
Spence Databases
Open Access Databases
Google Scholar is a large search engine for scholarly publications. It searches primarily journal articles and, contrary to almost all other search engines, searches the full text. From Google Books the data of a large number of scientific books are included in Google Scholar.
The text in this box has been adapted from Universiteit Utrecht Library Libguides. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
Sometimes Google Scholar points you to resources for which you have to pay to get the full text, but Spence students faculty, and staff can get many articles from Google Scholar for free!
If you are on campus you should be directly authenticated to links to databases we have subscriptions to. If you are off campus you might have to go to Spence Library databases to be authenticated as a legal user. After you click on a database like the login page will come up that asks for your Spence username and password (the same one you use to log-in to the Spence Website).
Most of the articles in Google Scholar come with an abstract, but some are also be available with free full text for everyone. If you don't have access to full text through your local library, here are some things to try to get the full text:
Zoonotic Disease Project
Zoonotic diseases are those that can spread between humans and other animals, mostly vertebrates. In this project, you will use a comparative zoology lens to understand the process of Zoonosis.
For this project, you will first research the disease. Then you will write a one page briefing document that addresses the questions below. Finally, you will give a 5 minute briefing to the class.
Your paper must accomplish the following tasks:
1) Describe the disease and its clinical history
2) Describe which vertebrates also manifest and spread the disease
3) Compare the immune system of the vertebrates that carry the disease with a human immune system (you need not go in more depth on immunity that you did last year in 11th grade).
Never type in a question into a database (or search engine)
Remove irrelevant words
Start broad
Narrow after viewing results
Use limiters provided by databases
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 2.0 Generic License.
This guide has been created by adapting text from a variety of other guides along with original content. Guides sourced in the creation of this work include the COM Library Libguides, University of Texas Libraries Libguides, the Universiteit Utrecht Library Libguide created by Michelle Dalton who adapted hers from Robin Kear (Univ. of Pittsburgh), Katherine Akers (Emory Univ., Atlanta GA), Lucy Lions (Northwestern Univ., Evanston IL) and Andrew Spencer (Macquarie Univ., Sydney).
Full Text Not Guaranteed
While Google Scholar and PubMed offer abstracts, full text access to the articles are not guaranteed.
Sometimes Google Scholar points you to resources for which you have to pay to get the full text, but Spence students faculty, and staff can get many articles from Google Scholar for free!
If you are on campus you should be directly authenticated to links to databases we have subscriptions to. If you are off campus you might have to go to Spence Library databases to be authenticated as a legal user. After you click on a database like the login page will come up that asks for your Spence username and password (the same one you use to log-in to the Spence Website).
If you have trouble locating the full text, contact Ms. Kane with the journal article title and author to see if she can get it for you.