Ancient Rome Heading

A Guided Trip Through the Streets of Rome!

Salve, scholars! On Friday, June 7th, you will help transport our classroom back to the PAX ROMANA!

YOU will be the expert on one area of life during this amazing time in Rome’s history. To prepare for this, you will spend the next couple of weeks researching, writing, editing, and creating. At the end of this, you will have:

- A typed report on your topic with a works cited page.

- A google presentation for your topic, highlighting the major points. Use this Libguide for your research.

You will need to consult a minimum of three sources.

For this project, you will only use the books in the room as well as

Spence's databases (Ancient and Medieval Eras, Ancient and Medieval

History Online and Gale in Context: World History) so NO googling!

Since this is a history project, try to push yourself to uncover primary

sources.

Search for Information in Library Databases

Ancient and Medieval History Online
This resource explores the pre-modern world with in-depth focus on Egypt, Mesopotamia, Greece, Rome, Africa, Europe, the Americas and Asia.
Gale in Context: World History
Explores world history though primary source documents, reference articles, journal and magazine articles, images, video and audio and maps. This resource includes information on the history of Europe, Asia, Africa, India, and Latin America.
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
This database explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires and profiles city-states, countries, and regions of the ancient and medieval world, providing a information that encompasses intellectual developments, wars and cooperation, religion, cultural practices, and more from prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance.

Citing Sources

Please create a New Project in NoodleTools, using MLA Style (Junior Level):

Use this Notesheet

Primary Source links

Artstor Database
A comprehensive online database containing images ranging from ancient times to today. Art and architecture as well as fashion and design are well represented here.
The Met Museum: Greek and Roman Art Collection
The Museum's collection of Greek and Roman art comprises more than thirty thousand works ranging in date from the Neolithic period (ca. 4500 B.C.) to the time of the Roman emperor Constantine's conversion to Christianity in A.D. 312. It includes the art of many cultures and is among the most comprehensive in North America.
The Getty Research Institute Online Collection
*Drop down to specify audiovisual or image results before searching.*
The Getty Library's resources across a broad range of physical and digital formats in a single search, including: books, journals, and auction catalogs, archives and Special Collections (including finding aids), Photo Archive collection records, and full-text articles from a variety of sources.
The Perseus Project at Tufts University - Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser
Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world. Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.