Spence School Library: 2024-2025: Independent Science Research: Science Journal Databases

Science Databases for Journal Articles

Spence Database Subscriptions

Science Direct
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books. Published by Elsevier
ProQuest Central Student
This database brings together many of ProQuest’s most-studied subject areas, including science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news. Full text of Scientific American
Academic Search Ultimate
An EBSCO database providing over 8,500 sources and more than 4,600 full text periodicals covering a range of topics.
Gale Powersearch
Discover a great collection of articles from thousands of Gale resources – magazines, journals, newspapers and books along with videos, images and podcast content.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.

Open Access Science Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content.

Useful tips for searching PubMed

Google Scholar
Google Scholar (GS) is the world's largest academic search engine. NOTE: Google Scholar results can be overwhelming. It is best used when conducting a targeted search for a specific journal article.
Public Library of Science
A nonprofit scientific/medical organization making articles available for free.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results. To search for technical reports, include the phrase "technical report" with other search terms that describe the topic.

Full Text of Nature and Scientific American

Scientific American Full Text
NYPL: Nature
New York Public Library Access Only. 2007-Present. You will need your NYPL card and pin

Search String Builder

Search String Help: Search Strategy Builder
Need help searching for sources using the library databases? Use this search strategy builder to create a search string.

Full Text Access

Full Text Not Guaranteed

While Google Scholar and PubMed offer abstracts, full text access to the articles are not guaranteed.

Sometimes Google Scholar points you to resources for which you have to pay to get the full text, but Spence students faculty, and staff can get many articles from Google Scholar for free!

If you have trouble locating the full text, contact Ms. Kane with the journal article title and author to see if she can get it for you.

Google Scholar

Useful tips for searching Google Scholar

2024-2025: Independent Science Research: Science Journal Databases

Science Databases for Journal Articles

Search String Builder

Full Text Access

Google Scholar

Science Publishers