Google Scholar: Google Scholar

Sometimes Google Scholar points you to resources for which you have to pay to get the full text, but Spence students faculty, and staff can get many articles from Google Scholar for free!

If you are on campus you should be directly authenticated to links to databases we have subscriptions to. If you are off campus you will have to go to Spence Library databases to be authenticated as a legal user. After you click on a database like the login page will come up that asks for your Spence username and password (the same one you use to log-in to the Spence Website).

Most of the articles in Google Scholar come with an abstract, but some are also be available with free full text for everyone. If you don't have access to full text through your local library, here are some things to try to get the full text:

1.  Look for [DOC], [PDF] or [HTML] on the result list. When you see one of these options, just click on it to get the full text.
2. If you don't see [DOC], [PDF] or [HTML] on the result list, look for All versions--there may be a free full text version there.
3. If you still have not found the full text, contact Ms. Kane with the journal article title and author to see if she can get it for you.

The text in this book is adopted from COM Library Libguides. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

You can really save some time by using the Advanced Search options if you are searching for specific publications, authors, legal or want to restrict the date.

To access the options, click on the arrow (pull down menu) of the search box. 

You'll get options to restrict results to specific authors, publications, dates and more.