Spence School Library: Global History: Tertiary Source Databases: Home

Tertiary Source Databases

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools.
Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the people, places and events in world history from the mid-15th century to the present. It contains primary sources and reference articles.
Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
Explores world history though primary source documents, reference articles, journal and magazine articles, images, video and audio and maps. This resource includes information on the history of Europe, Asia, Africa, India, and Latin America.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference provides the full text of subject encyclopedias, language dictionaries, quotation dictionaries, companion series, and many more reference sources.

Try searching the additional databases below if you are unable to find enough information in the databases above.

History Research Center This link opens in a new window
Search six databases at once: African-American History, American History Online, American Indian History, Ancient and Medieval History Online, Modern World History Online, World Religions.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Online library of reference titles for multi-disciplinary research.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A wide selection of authoritative, scholarly electronic books available through a easy to use platform with a variety of online and offline reading options.