Spence School Library: Spring 2024: Studies in Drama: A Doll's House by Henrik Ibsen

Search Hints

When searching for reviews, remember to put in a date filter in all the databases and put phrases in quotation marks.

The title of Ibsen's play was translated into different forms in the 19th and early 20th century. When searching reviews during this time period try:

Example: ("A Doll's House" OR "Et dukkehjem" OR "The Child Wife" OR "The Breaking of a Butterfly") AND Ibsen AND Nora

Historical Newspapers & Magazines

Proquest Comprehensive This link opens in a new window
Remember to put in a date filter to locate primary source reviews!
Times of London Digital Archive: 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth-century news coverage.

Journal Articles (Primary for late 20th and 21st Century Reviews and Analysis)

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text journal articles in the arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences. While you won’t find current journal articles, you will find articles dating from 3-5 years ago to many decades ago.

Google Scholar
A place to find contemporary reviews. Be sure to evaluate the source to make sure it is from a reputable author or critic (Google Scholar indexes college writing along with published journal articles and books).

New York Public Library: America's Historical Newspapers
Library Card Required. Searchable full-text and page images of newspapers from across the country.
New York Public Library: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text and page images of all ProQuest Historical Newspaper databases, which include titles related to New York, Chicago, Atlanta, Baltimore, Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., the American Jewish Newspaper Series, and the United Kingdom.
New York Public Library: New York Public Library: Sunday Times, 1822-2016
Full-text archive of the London Sunday Times from its first issue in 1822 until 2016.

A Dolls House: Documents, Chronology of Early Performances
A Sourcebook on Naturalist Theatre, edited by Christopher Innes, Taylor & Francis Group, 2000.
Reviews of A Doll's House performed at the Novelty Theatre, 1889
A selection of reviews compiled in the book: Henrik Ibsen, edited by Michael Egan, Taylor & Francis Group, 1997.