Spence School Library: Debate Research Resources: Research Resources

Proquest Comprehensive
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once.

The New York Times
Students will have access to the New York Times through the library. Students will receive an email early in the year to create their accounts.
Washington Post Website
Website. Access is limited. For full text, use the database ProQuest Comprehensive.
The Washington Post - ProQuest
Full-text access to all articles from ProQuest comprehensive, a library database.
Wall Street Journal Website
Website. Access is limited. For full text use the database ProQuest Comprehensive.
The Wall Street Journal - ProQuest
Full-text access to The Wall Street Journal from ProQuest Comprehensive, a library database.
Vox
Google News Search
Search archived news from over 50,000 sources. Includes a customization option that lets you personalize what kind of news you want and which sources you want your news from.

Regional/International Relations News Services:

World Politics Review
Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs.
Euro|topics
The euro|topics press review reflects the diversity of opinions in Europe.

more... less...

Correspondents in all the EU member states as well as Russia, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine monitor more than 500 print and online media across the entire political spectrum and translate excerpts from opinion pieces. Political, economic and social issues are continually examined from different perspectives. Brief introductions supply background information on the debates. Links to the original texts and media are also provided.

Gallup News
Gallup News offers information on what people are thinking in various areas such as the presidency, business, world events, etc.
Roper Center
The Rope Center at Cornell has a mission to, "Our mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data."
Pew Research Center
Public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis.

more... less...

"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
The Harris Poll
Longstanding public opinion polling firm.

Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies helps student researchers understand today’s crucial issues. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, all articles provide essential context, supported by statistics, timelines, and primary sources.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games.
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.

Google Public Data Explorer
Search for public data, including statistics and projections, from over ninety international institutions. The data can be displayed in several different formats including line graphs, bar graphs, and maps. Public Data Explorer can be a quick and easy way to locate and visualize data.
Google Data Set Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search.

The Census Bureau
Data.gov
U.S. Government’s open data portal.

more... less...

An online repository of policies, tools, case studies, and other resources to support data governance, management, exchange, and use throughout the federal government. The site is a joint effort of OMB, the Office of Government Information Services of the National Archives, and GSA.
MetaLib
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.
GovInfo
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

DebateUS!
The Spence School has a paid account. Please contact Ms. Kane or Ms. Emerson if you want access to some of the resources posted there!

Think Tank Google Search:

IGO Google Search:

IGO Google Custom Search Engine

NGO Google Search:

NGO Google Custom Search Engine

Other Search Engines:

MillionShort
Search engine that allows you to remove up to the top million websites from its search, returning results that would otherwise be buried.