Big Ben
Regent's Park
The Strand
Old Guidebook to London
Modernism: a Very Short Introduction
by
Modernism ushered in some of the most exciting innovations in art and literature, from Fauvism, Cubism, and Dada, to the novels of James Joyce and Franz Kafka, to such provocative works as Marcel Duchamp's "Fountain." But Modernism also left many people puzzled in its wake. How can a routine bathroom fixture be considered a work of art? Shouldn't a novel have a beginning, a middle, and an end--or at least a story? Whether we recognise it or not, virtually every aspect of our life today has been influenced in part by the aesthetic legacy of Modernism. In this Very Short Introduction, Christopher Butler provides a coherent account of Modernism across various aesthetic and cultural fields. Butler examines how and why Modernism began, explaining what it is and showing how virtually all aspects of 20th and 21st century life have been influenced by its aesthetic legacy. Butler considers several aspects of modernism, including some classic modernist works, movements and notions of the avant garde, and the idea of "progress" in art. Finally, Butler sheds light on modernist ideas of the self, subjectivity, irrationalism, people and machines, and the political dimensions of modernism as a whole.
The Great War and the Language of Modernism
Reference
Literary Reference Database
Ebooks
A large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter,
A wide selection of authoritative, scholarly electronic books available through a easy to use platform with a variety of online and offline reading options.
Archives
Primary Source Newspapers
This collection offers access to more than 100 years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society. The Daily Mail Historical Archive is part of Gale's growing "middle class/middle market" collection of newspapers and periodicals which reflect twentieth-century popular culture and tastes. They provide an important alternative perspective to "the newspaper of record," the Times.
Getty Open Content: Public domain art images from Getty collections.
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online: Images from the Library of Congress, now in the public domain.
Background Readings
Primary Sources
Key Books
Virginia Woolf in Context
As a paradigmatic modernist author, Virginia Woolf is celebrated for the ways her fiction illuminates modern and contemporary life. Woolf scholars have long debated how context - whether historical, cultural, or theoretical - is to be understood in relation to her work and how her work produces new insights into context. Drawing on an international field of leading and emergent specialists, this collection provides an authoritative resource for contemporary Woolf scholarship that explores the distinct and overlapping dimensions of her writings. Rather than survey existing scholarship, these essays extend Woolf studies in new directions by examining how the author is contextualised today. The collection also highlights connections between Woolf and key cultural, political and historical issues of the twentieth century such as avant-gardism in music and art, developments in journalism and the publishing industry, political struggles over race, gender and class and the bearings of colonialism, empire and war.
Virginia Woolf
by
With epic scope and a rich use of detail, Hermione Lee has created a miraculously evocative portrait that lets us know as never before how Virginia Woolf looked, how she sounded, how she dressed and behaved, and how she wrote. She shows us a brave, powerfully intelligent woman who suffered from a terrifying chronic illness and wrestled with the contradictions of her own character.
Virginia Woolf
by
Virginia Woolf: A Portrait
by
Virginia Woolf and the Bloomsbury Avant-Garde
by
The Edinburgh Companion to Virginia Woolf and the Arts
Guide to Virginia Woolf's artistic influences and associations. The in-depth chapters place Woolf's work in relation to the most influential aesthetic theories and artistic practices, including Bloomsbury aesthetics, art and race, Vanessa Bell and painting, art galleries, theatre, music, dance, fashion, entertaining, garden and book design, broadcasting, film, and photography.
Virginia Woolf (Authors in Context)
by
Walking Virginia Woolf's London
by
See Chapter 5: Walking in Upper-Class Westminster— Mrs. Dalloway
