Spence School Library: Middle School Science Resources: Start Your Research

Encyclopedias / Reference Sources

Reference Sources
What is a reference source?

Britannica School This link opens in a new window
The online provides access to articles, photographs, maps and links to related Web sites, as well as to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the world atlas, a timeline and Britannica’s annual “Year in Review.”
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
World Book Encyclopedia for Students This link opens in a new window
The World Book Encyclopedia provides articles, maps and photographs, as well as an atlas and dictionary.

Spence Library Catalogs - Find Books!

The books in the Spence School library are organized according to the Dewey Decimal System (books with similar subjects are group together). When looking for a book make sure you write down the call # from the online catalog. The call # corresponds to the physical location. If you need help finding a book please see Ms. Kane or Ms. Crow!

Find:

Advanced Search

Research Databases

SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
General Reference Database Designed for Young Researchers
Explora Ebsco Host (Middle School) This link opens in a new window
Magazines, encyclopedias and ebooks great for middle school research.
Gale in Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Middle School is a cross-disciplinary database aimed at middle school students that includes literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. A visual interface design and navigation preferred by younger users is combined with user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework. Gale's reference content includes age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.

Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
This resource offers extensive information for many scientific disciplines, coming the form of topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles from Science Weekly, Science News and The Science Teacher.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Science Online offers a comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Topic Centers feature specially selected content on core science disciplines to help students find a starting point for their research.

Credit: Meagan Kane, Upper School LIbrarian, The Spence School

Middle School Science Resources: Start Your Research

Encyclopedias / Reference Sources

Spence Library Catalogs - Find Books!

Research Databases

Accessing Library Databases fromHome