Spence School Library: 2024-2025: Eco Fellows: Science Journal Databases

Science Databases for Journal Articles

Spence Database Subscriptions

Science Direct This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
An EBSCO database providing over 8,500 sources and more than 4,600 full text periodicals covering a range of topics.
ProQuest Central Student This link opens in a new window
This database brings together many of ProQuest’s most-studied subject areas, including science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to full-text journal articles in the arts, sciences, humanities and social sciences. While you won’t find current journal articles, you will find articles dating from 3-5 years ago to many decades ago.

Scientific American Full Text

Open Access Science Databases

ERIC
ERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content.

Useful tips for searching PubMed

Google Scholar
Google Scholar (GS) is the world's largest academic search engine. NOTE: Google Scholar results can be overwhelming. It is best used when conducting a targeted search for a specific journal article.
Public Library of Science
A nonprofit scientific/medical organization making articles available for free.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results. To search for technical reports, include the phrase "technical report" with other search terms that describe the topic.

NYPL Resources

You will need your NYPL card to access these databases.

Popular Science: Popular Science is an American monthly magazine founded in 1872 carrying articles for the general reader on science and technology subjects.

Agricola: AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators.

Search String Builder

Develop a Search String Tool
Need help searching for sources using the library databases? Use this search strategy builder to create a search string.

Google Scholar

Useful tips for searching Google Scholar

Full Text Access

Full Text Not Guaranteed

While Google Scholar and PubMed offer abstracts, full text access to the articles are not guaranteed.

Sometimes Google Scholar points you to resources for which you have to pay to get the full text, but Spence students faculty, and staff can get many articles from Google Scholar for free!

If you have trouble locating the full text, contact Ms. Kane with the journal article title and author to see if she can get it for you.

2024-2025: Eco Fellows: Science Journal Databases

Science Databases for Journal Articles

NYPL Resources

Search String Builder

Google Scholar

Full Text Access

Science Publishers