Skip to Main Content

2021 Fall Elective: Identities in American Art: Source Identification

Types of Secondary Sources

Print or Electronic.

Books can be edited compilations are works by a single or group of authors. High School students should look for books by scholarly presses.

Scholarly Journal Articles: Scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles are written by scholars or professionals who are experts in their fields. In the humanities they are often secondary sources unless they were written during the time period being studied.

Magazines, Newspapers

Brief coverage of current events, trends, data, and historical analysis.

Primary Source Types

Books written during the time of events being studied.

General Research Division, The New York Public Library. "Democracy and world dominion." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed October 1, 2015. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47db-da83-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Diaries, Letters, Speeches, Notes

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. "Letter to Samuel Adams, Boston" New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed October 1, 2015. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/bc2acb7e-4b58-0a50-e040-e00a18063320

Photos, Paintings, Drawings, Cartoons

Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, Photographs and Prints Division, The New York Public Library. "Armistice Day; Lenox Ave., 4 West 134th Street; Harlem, 1919" New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed October 1, 2015. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47de-1a12-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Editorials, Articles, Letters

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. "Tennyson's Poems. (Newspaper clipping with marginalia.)" New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed October 1, 2015. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/8b5d459a-5c6b-ca91-e040-e00a180640ef

Popular Magazine, Tabloids, Scholarly Journals

The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs: Art & Architecture Collection, The New York Public Library. "The American monthly review of reviews for June." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed October 1, 2015. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e2-95ad-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

    

Zola, Gary Phillip, and Marc Dollinger, eds. American Jewish History: A Primary Source Reader. Waltham, Massachusetts: Brandeis, 2014.

Government Reports & Laws

Declaration of war between USA and Germany, signed by Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924) 6th April 1917 (print), American School, (20th century) / Private Collection / Peter Newark American Pictures / Bridgeman Images

Speeches, Conversations, Interviews

A Speech About The Government, 1916 (ink and w/c), Bateman, H M (1887-1970) / Private Collection / © H M Bateman Designs / Bridgeman Images

 

How to Read a Footnote or Bibliography

Using a Variety of Sources

Try to find a variety of sources that answer your question. For secondary sources, always use vetted, scholarly sources and try not to rely exclusively on one source. Remember you are using sources to build your own argument and add your own analysis.

Primary sources enable a researcher to analyze evidence created during the time period without relying on the viewpoints of scholars. When searching for primary sources, seek different viewpoints about your topic. The better your sources, the better your research paper will be!

Instructional Sources