Spence School Library: Animal Rights / Welfare Project: Sources

Spence School Databases

Databases to find Pro/Con Opinions and News Articles

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
"Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to violent video games." Subject Guides Include: Animal Experimentation, Animal Rights, Vegetarianism, Endangered Species, Factory Farming
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
Issues & Controversies
Issues & Controversies helps student researchers understand today’s crucial issues. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, all articles provide essential context, supported by statistics, timelines, and primary sources.
Social Issues Research Services (SIRS)
Select "Issues Researcher" from search menu. Numerous Animal Welfare topics are listed in the drop down menu.Subject Guides Include: Animal Cruelty, Animal Experimentation, Animal Rights, Factory Farms

Databases to find News, Periodical & Scholarly Journal Articles

Gale in Context: Science
This resource offers extensive information for many scientific disciplines, coming the form of topic overviews, biographies, periodical articles from Science Weekly, Science News and The Science Teacher.
Proquest Comprehensive
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once. It contains access to historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles. Subject Areas: Arts & Humanities, Business, General Research, Health Sciences & Nursing, Literature, News & Issues, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Science Direct
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content.

Ebooks

Animal Rights by David DeGrazia
ISBN: 9780192853608
Publication Date: 2002

ProQuest Ebook Central
A wide selection of authoritative, scholarly electronic books available through a easy to use platform with a variety of online and offline reading options.

Search Google

If you get too many results, use Google Advanced Search to set search limits. Try searching by a domain (.edu, .org or .gov) or file type (pdf, doc, etc).

Google Scholar provides a simple way to search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources. Be sure to check with your teacher/Ms. Kane to make sure that a course is reputable. Google Scholar includes academic literature in addition to thesis and other unpublished materials.

Google Search Strategies

For more advanced searching tips, visit their Inside Search site.

Search Strategies	Examples
Queries are not case sensitive.	Barack Obama and barack obama produce the same results.
Results will typically include each word or punctuation mark included in the query. Some stop words or exceptions apply.
Keep queries descriptive, but use as few terms as possible. Avoid natural language.	Use colorado statehood instead of when did colorado first become a state.
Google automatically truncates search terms. To prevent this, use a + sign in front of each term.	A query on child retrives results with "children" and "childcare".
Use double quotations marks (" ") to search terms as an exact phrase.	A query on "Barack Hussein Obama II" will retrieve only those sites that refer to Obama by his full name. Sites that refer to him as simply 'Barack Obama' may be overlooked.
Use the site: feature to limit your results to a specific website or class of websites.	The query cloning site:online.wsj.com will only retrieve articles about cloning from the online version of the Wall Street Journal. A query on cloning site:.gov will only retrieve results within the government domain.
To allow for either of several words to appear in your results, use the OR operator. The operator must be in all caps.	A query on hotel OR lodging OR inn will retrieve results with any or all of these terms.

We acknowledge and appreciate use of content from Lori Micho of Johnson and Wales University at Denver.

Websites

Recommended Websites to Begin Your Research:

BBC Animal Ethics Guide
"An overview of animal ethics, listing some of the main issues to do with animal rights, animal welfare and our use of animals."
Humane Society of the United States - Campaigns
"The Humane Society of the United States is the nation’s largest animal protection organization."
People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA)
"PETA was founded in 1980 and is dedicated to establishing and defending the rights of all animals. PETA operates under the simple principle that animals are not ours to eat, wear, experiment on, or use for entertainment."
ProCon.org
"ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias."
Animal Legal Defense Fund (ALDF)
"For more than three decades, the Animal Legal Defense Fund has been fighting to protect the lives and advance the interests of animals through the legal system."

Additional Sources of Information on the Web:

Animals and Society Institute
"The Animals and Society Institute develops knowledge in the field of human-animal studies, supports practice to address the relationship between animal cruelty and other violence, and promotes action to protect animals through the adoption of ethical, compassionate public policy. "
The Animal Law Resource Center
"The Animal Law Resource Center provides access to legislation and legal matters pertaining to animals and the law."
Animal Studies Repository - Humane Society Institute for Science and Policy
"The Animal Studies Repository is a digital collection of resources related to the study of animal welfare and the human-animal bond."
Animal Welfare
List of resources maintained by the National Agricultural Law Center.
Animal Welfare Act - USDA, APHIS, Animal Care
"The Animal Welfare Act is the only Federal law in the United States that regulates the treatment of animals in research, exhibition, transport, and by dealers."
Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC)
"The Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC) is mandated by the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) to provide information for improved animal care and use in research, testing, and teaching."
Animal Welfare Institute - Animal Programs
"AWI’s mission is to alleviate suffering of nonhuman animals."
Animal Legal and Historical Center (Michigan State University College of Law)
"Repository of information about animal law, including: over 1200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), over 1400 US statutes, over 60 topics and comprehensive explanation."
Committee on Animals and the Law - NYS Bar Association
"The Committee on Animals and the Law is a resource for Members and the Public about non-human, animal related legal matters and associated humane considerations."
Factory Farm Map - Food & Water Watch
"Food & Water Watch works to ensure the food, water and fish we consume is safe, accessible and sustainably produced."
Free E-Books about Laboratory Animal Research from the National Academy Press
The National Academy Press offers free ebook access to their books and reports on Science, Engineering and Medicine.
National Primate Research Center
"Primate Info Net (PIN) is maintained by Lawrence Jacobsen Library staff at the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center (WNPRC), University of Wisconsin-Madison."
Nonhuman Rights Project
"The Nonhuman Rights Project is the only organization working toward actual LEGAL rights for members of species other than our own."