Spence School Library: 2021 Fall Elective: Advanced Biology: Scientific Journal Articles

Scholarly Articles

Spence Databases

Science Direct
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and 26,000 books.
ProQuest Science Journals
This database is a resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features more than 760 full text journals.
Gale OneFile: Science
Access information on the latest developments across a range of scientific disciplines. Updated daily.

Open Access Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar (GS) is the world's largest academic search engine. NOTE: Google Scholar results can be overwhelming. It is best used when conducting a targeted search for a specific journal article.
Dimensions (Digital Science)
A multidisciplinary source that includes citation data from CrossRef, the field and relative citation ratios, and other indicators from Altmetric.
Microsoft Academic
"Microsoft Academic (MA) employs advances in machine learning, semantic inference and knowledge discovery to help you explore scholarly information in more powerful ways than ever before."
PLOS - Public Library of Science
PLOS (Public Library of Science) is a nonprofit publisher. Articles, books, lessons are all open access.

more... less...

Quality information about black holes.
Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies including research and development results. To search for technical reports, include the phrase "technical report" with other search terms that describe the topic.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature. Citations may include links to full-text content.

New York Public Library Databases

Academic Search Premier - EBSCO - New York Public Library Database
"A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles."

Upper School Librarian

Meagan Kane

Email Me

Subjects: Art and Art History, E-Books, Primary Sources, Research Help, Upper School History, Upper School Science

Search Strategy Builder

Search Strategy Builder by The University of Arizona Libraries

Rules for Searching Databases

Never type in a question into a database (or search engine)

Remove irrelevant words

Start broad

Narrow after viewing results

Use limiters provided by databases

Full Text

Full Text Not Guaranteed

While Google Scholar and PubMed offer abstracts, full text access to the articles are not guaranteed.

Sometimes Google Scholar points you to resources for which you have to pay to get the full text, but Spence students faculty, and staff can get many articles from Google Scholar for free!

If you are on campus you should be directly authenticated to links to databases we have subscriptions to. If you are off campus you might have to go to Spence Library databases to be authenticated as a legal user. After you click on a database like the login page will come up that asks for your Spence username and password (the same one you use to log-in to the Spence Website).

If you have trouble locating the full text, contact Ms. Kane with the journal article title and author to see if she can get it for you.

2021 Fall Elective: Advanced Biology: Scientific Journal Articles