Spence School Library: 2024 Fall: Global III: Apartheid: Overview, Timelines, Maps

Understanding Apartheid: Lesson Book Published by the Apartheid Museum

Understanding Apartheid: Ebook published by the Apartheid Museum - this book includes a background of apartheid in South Africa and also include ideas for the types of primary sources you can use in the project.

Introduction
Chapter 1: The origins of apartheid
Chapter 2: Segregation in action
Chapter 3: The implementation of apartheid
Chapter 4: Resistance to apartheid
Chapter 5: From apartheid to democracy
Acknowledgements

Background Databases

Apartheid Glossary: South Africa Online

Modern World History Online This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the people, places and events in world history from the mid-15th century to the present. It contains primary sources and reference articles.

Timelines

Timeline from the Apartheid Museum

Timeline: Each exhibition part is organized chronologically and contains key events and facts about the period/event.

Timelines from South African History Online

Apartheid and New Forms of Poverty and Inequality: 1948–1994
Poverty and Inequality in South Africa: A History

Map: Find you map in the Book, Atlas of Changing South Africa

To find your map for the project, use this atlas to search. It includes hundreds of thematically organized maps to describe and explain how apartheid impacted life in South Africa, how resistance grew, and the legacy of apartheid.

Atlas of Changing South Africa by A. J. Christopher
The new edition of the atlas (first published as The Atlas of Apartheid) presents a comprehensive introduction and detailed analysis of the spatial impact of apartheid in South Africa. It covers the period of the National Party Government of 1948 to 1994, and emphasises the changes and the continuing legacy this presents to South Africans at the start of the 21st century.

The atlas is organized thematically:

Introduction - 1
Before apartheid - 9
Administering apartheid - 49
State apartheid - 68
Urban apartheid - 101
Personal apartheid - 139
Resistance to apartheid - 158
International response to apartheid - 171
Dismantling apartheid - 196
Legacy of apartheid - 232

To cite, choose database and book.

The ISBN is 0203185900. Then change "Chapter or Section" to "Map or Chart". Example:

Christopher, Anthony John. "Figure 6.1 Early Resistance to Apartheid." Map. In The Atlas of Changing South Africa, 2nd ed., 159. London: Routledge, 2001. ProQuest Ebook Central.