Haiti and the Atlantic World: Includes copies of Haiti's constitutions and other primary sources related to Haiti's founding and early years, including Jean-Jacques Dessalines.
Haiti Digital Library: Sources about various periods of Haitian history, including the Haitian Revolution. Sources are in French, English and Kreyol.
History of the Haitian Independence Struggle 1791-1804: English-language primary sources from the Haitian Revolution, including a collection of sources related to Toussaint Louverture.
The Other Revolution: Haiti, 1789-1804: Visual and print primary sources related to the Haitian Revolution in English and French.
World History Commons: Slavery and the Haitian Revolution: Includes visual and textual sources about the Haitian Revolution as well as contextual information.
The Haitian Revolution
by
"A landmark collection of documents by the field's leading scholar. This reader includes beautifully written introductions and a fascinating array of never-before-published primary documents. These treasures from the archives offer a new picture of colonial Saint-Domingue and the Haitian Revolution. The translations are lively and colorful." --Alyssa Sepinwall, California State University San Marcos
The Memoir of Toussaint Louverture
by
Here is an annotated, scholarly, multilingual edition of the only lengthy text personally written by Haitian revolutionary Toussaint Louverture: the memoirs he wrote shortly before his death in the French prison of Fort de Joux. The translation is based on an original copy in Louverture's hand never before published.Historian Philippe Girard begins with an introductory essay that retraces Louverture's career as a slave, rebel, and governor. Girard provides a detailed narrative of the last year of Louverture's life, and analyzes the significance of the memoirs and letters from a historical and linguistic perspective. The book includes a full transcript, in the original French, of Louverture's handwritten memoirs. The English translation appears side by side with the original. The memoirs contain idiosyncrasies and stylistic variations of interest to linguists. Scholarly interest in the Haitian Revolution and the life of Toussaint Louverture has increased over the past decade. Louverture is arguably the most notable man of African descent in history, and the Haitian Revolution was the most radical of the three great revolutions of its time. Haiti's proud revolutionary past and its more recent upheavals indicate that interest in Haiti's history goes far beyond academia; many regard Louverture as a personal hero. Despite this interest, there is a lack of accessible primary sources on Toussaint Louverture. An edited translation of Louverture's memoirs makes his writings accessible to a larger public. Louverture's memoirs provide a vivid alternative perspective to anonymous plantation records, quantitative analyses of slave trading ventures, or slave narratives mediated by white authors. Louverture kept a stoic façade and rarely expressed his innermost thoughts and fears in writing, but his memoirs are unusually emotional. Louverture questioned whether he was targeted due to the color of his skin, bringing racism an issue that Louverture rarely addressed head on with his white interlocutors, to the fore.
Comprehensive: cross-search all our ProQuest databases at once. It contains access to historical and current newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journal articles. Subject Areas: Arts & Humanities, Business, General Research, Health Sciences & Nursing, Literature, News & Issues, Science & Technology, Social Sciences
Websites for Primary Sources
A wide selection of authoritative, scholarly electronic books available through a easy to use platform with a variety of online and offline reading options.
A Concise History of the Haitian Revolution
by
L' esclavage Sous Toutes Ses Formes
by
From Deficit to Deluge: The Origins of the French Revolution
Camier, Bernard, and Laurent Dubois. "Voltaire Et Zaïre, Ou Le Théâtre Des Lumières Dans L'aire Atlantique Française." Revue D'histoire Moderne Et Contemporaine (1954-) 54, no. 4 (2007): 39-69. http://www.jstor.org/stable/20531526.
