Pop Culture Universe: Icons, Idols, Ideas applies an academic lens to the seemingly everyday aspects of American life and interest to facilitate meaningful sociological and historical insights. The database is organized chronologically from 1900 through the new millennium, with each topic center devoted to a unique decade in American history. The primary sources in each topic center—including photographs, video, and audio—give life to the names, moments, works, and trends that have defined American pop culture while secondary sources—including original journal articles—explore the role of popular culture in American history.
The online provides access to articles, photographs, maps and links to related Web sites, as well as to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the world atlas, a timeline and Britannica’s annual “Year in Review.”
NOVELNY databases are provided free to the public by the New York State Library. The databases can only be accessed within the geographical boundaries of New York State. When logging in you will see a NOVELNY screen requesting your location information. If you are in New York State, you can proceed to the database by selecting the "Use My Location" button or waiting five seconds.
Gale in Context: Middle School is a cross-disciplinary database aimed at middle school students that includes literature, science, social studies, and U.S. and world history. A visual interface design and navigation preferred by younger users is combined with user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework. Gale's reference content includes age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more.
