In JSTOR, you may be able to find primary source articles written at the time your topic occured. Limit by publication data range to look for primary sources. JSTOR articles go back to the early 1800s.
HINT: When searching for primary source articles, set a data range and limit by the type of news item you are looking for (article, letter to the editor, cartoon, etc.) These options are usually located on the "Advanced Search" screen.
Please Note: These are links to the New York Public LIbrary Website. You will need a NYPL card to use the databases. Please see Ms. Kane to obtain one.
To locate a complete list of New York Public Library databases visit: http://www.nypl.org/collections/articles-databases
The links below will take you to the NYPL library website. To use the databases you need a NYPL library card.
Please see Ms. Kane if you would like to receive one.
AP Multimedia Archive: Contains the Associated Press's current year's photos and a selection of images from their archive.
Berg Fashion Library: Comprehensive coverage of world fashion from reference titles, journal articles, ebooks, and images.
Independent Voices: A collection of the magazines, journals, and newspapers of the alternative and small press archives.
Infotrac Newsstand: Searchable full-text of 300 plus newspapers, both national and international.
Ethnic NewsWatch: Collection of ethnic, minority, and native newspapers, magazines, and journals published in America.
National Newspaper Index (1977-present): Indexing of America's top newspapers in one search: The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, USA Today and The Washington Post.
National Newspapers Premier (ProQuest): Searchable full text from the 1980's to the present of over 25 local, regional and national newspapers.
New York State Newspapers: A collection of major New York State newspapers, available in full-text.
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962): Full text of The New York Tribune and its successor The Herald Tribune.
Oxford Bibliographies: A library of discipline-based subject modules designed to help researchers find reliable sources of information for their research.
Project Muse: Provides full-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed scholarly journals.
ProQuest Historical African American Newspapers: Includes the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) and the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003).
ProQuest Historical Jewish Newspapers: The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1854-2000), The Jerusalem Post (1932-1988), the Jewish Advocate (1905-1990) and The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990).
The Databases listed here contain:
For a full list of databases visit: http://spenceschool.libguides.com/az.php